LCU Library: Citation Guide: Copyright

What is copyright?

Copyright Charts

Teach Act Guidelines The Technology, Education and Copyright Harmonization Act (TEACH Act) was passed in 2002 to update copyright law pertaining to online education and the display of copyrighted materials.
- This link opens in a new window

Copyright Tools

Digital copyright slider to determine protection.
ALA Office of Information Technology Policy
Educational Exemptions Tool
U.S. Copyright Code provides for the educational use of copyrighted material without the permission of the copyright holder under certain conditions. To find out if your intended use meets the requirements set out in the law, use this free, online tool.
Fair use evaluator
Provided by Michael Brewer & ALA Office of Information Technology
TEACH Tools
UNC Charlotte guides, checklists
Interactive guide to using multimedia in your courses
Baruch College tutorial
Digital image rights computator
Considers licenses and copyright by Visual Resources Association

Proper use of library database content

Library databases are licensed for non-commercial educational purposes by CURRENT LCU students, faculty & staff. The full text included in the databases is copyrighted by the publisher. You may:

link directly to items in the databases via a persistent (durable) link
make copies for in-class handouts
provide electronic copies (behind a password barrier) BUT students should not retain copies after the class.
use images for personal or educational presentations WITH copyright statement. Images may not be copied, emailed or posted on the web without the written permission of the author/publisher.

Authorized users may not copy, distribute, transmit or sell any database content nor remove copyright notices.

Permissions...

Note: formal permission must be in writing for full protection. Looking for an online creator? See contact information or Permissions department. Correct citation doesn't substitute for permission when permission is needed. Proper attribution contains:

author
title of work
medium of work
date
source credit line (journal, publisher, institution or URL)
copyright statement / photo credit if applicable

How to request permission (U.S. Copyright Office)

Websites for additional information

LCA Principles for Copyright and Artificial Intelligence
The Library Copyright Alliance's response and guiding principles regarding AI.
Columbia University Copyright Advisory Office
The CAO is to address the relationship between copyright law and the work of the university community.
Copyright & Fair Use | Stanford University Libraries
Examples of fair use and policies. Charts and tools are continually added to help users evaluate copyright status and best practices.
Guide to Copyright & Fair Use | Charleston Southern University
Issues pertaining to the use of print materials, especially photocopies, in the classroom and on library reserve. Issues involving Interlibrary Loan, music, off air videotaping, audiovisual works, educational multimedia, and fair use guidelines are described.
Know Your Copy Rights
Tips for faculty & teaching assistants in higher education.
The TEACH Act | University of Texas Libraries
Everything you need to know about using, displaying, and performing others' works in the classroom.
U.S. Copyright Law
The doctrine of fair use has developed through a number of court decisions over the years and has been codified in section 107 of the copyright law.
MIT Libraries Fair Use Quiz
The self-guided quiz covers the basics of copyright and “terms of use,” and takes about 10 minutes.
Code of Best Practices in Fair Use for the Visual Arts
Fair use in writing, teaching, making art infographics and powerpoint

Welcome to the LCU Library

Citation Guide: Copyright

Guiding Rule...when in doubt, ask permission from the creator of the information you wish to use.